Friday, June 5, 2009

The list of GA Supreme Court nominees keeps getting longer

The Fulton County Daily Report provided yet another updated list this morning. Nominations for the post closed yesterday. It's quite a field:

Lynn M. Akeley-Alderman
Enotah Judicial Circuit Superior Court Judge
Nominated by Josh Turner, chairman of the White County Republican Party (June 4)

Alvin L. Bridges Jr.
Managing attorney for automobile insurer in Atlanta
Nominated himself (June 4)

Anne Proffitt Dupre
Law professor at the University of Georgia
Nominated by Kellie Casey Monk, director of advocacy at the University of Georgia School of Law (June 4)

David F. Guldenschuh
Attorney in Rome
Nominated by Michelle S. Tyree, paralegal at Guldenschuh & Associates (June 4)

Laurens C. Lee
Byron City Judge and Peach County Magistrate
Nominated by his brother, Louis B. Lee (June 4)

Marc A. Mallon
Assistant District Attorney in Fulton County
Nominated by Atlanta attorney S. Fenn Little Jr. (June 4)

George P. Shingler
Shareholder at Casey Gilson in Atlanta
Nominated by his law partner, Joyce Gist Lewis (June 4)

Cheryl F. Custer
Executive Director of the Judicial Qualifications Commission
Nominated by Frank Love Jr. of Bryan Cave Powell Goldstein (June 3)

Rocco E. Testani
Litigation partner at Sutherland Asbill & Brennan in Atlanta
Nominated by Charles T. Lester Jr., of counsel at Sutherland (June 3)

Elizabeth P. Archer
State Inspector General
Nominated by Michelle M. Rothenberg-Williams, partner at Balch & Bingham in Atlanta (June 3)

S. Phillip Brown
Macon Circuit Superior Court Judge
Nominated by retired teacher Frankie Brule (June 3)

Partner at Balch & Bingham in Atlanta
Nominated by Atlanta lawyer Henry A. Hibbert (June 3)

Christopher C. Edwards
Griffin Judicial Circuit Superior Court Judge
Nominated by Griffin Superior Court Chief Judge Paschal A. English; Griffin Superior Court Judges Johnnie L. Caldwell Jr. and Tommy R. Hankinson; Griffin District Attorney Scott Ballard; Griffin Public Defender Joseph J. Saia; Fayette County State Court Judge W. Fletcher Sams; State Sen. Ronnie Chance, R-Tyrone; State Reps. David Knight, R-Griffin, Virgil Fludd, D-Tyrone, Matthew L. Ramsey, R-Peachtree City, John Yates, R-Griffin, and Billy Maddox, R-Cairo; Fayette County Solicitor Jamie Inagawa, Spalding County Solicitor Griffin E. Howell III, Fayette County Attorney Scott Bennett; Spalding County Attorney James R. Fortune Jr.; Pike County Attorney Robert Lamar Morton; Upson County Attorney Truitt A. Mallory; Meansville City Attorney Thomas H. Morton; Fayette County Commission Chairman Jack Smith; Spalding County Commission Chairman Edward Goss; Pike County Commission Chairman Doug Mangham; Upson County Commission Chairman Maurice A. Raines; Fayette County Sheriff Wayne Hannah; Spalding County Sheriff Dee Stewart; Pike County Sheriff Jimmy Thomas; Upson County Sheriff Don Peacock; and Georgia Regional Transportation Authority Board Member Alton W. Knight (May 28)

Steven K. Leibel
Dahlonega personal injury lawyer
Nominated by Atlanta lawyer Leon Pomerance (June 3)

Christopher J. McFadden
Decatur appellate lawyer
Nominated by Atlanta lawyer Guy E. Davis Jr. (June 3)

Dawn H. Taylor
Gwinnett County Assistant District Attorney
Nominated by Stuart E. Walker of Martin Snow in Macon (June 3)

J. Robert Persons
Atlanta civil defense lawyer at Smith Moore Leatherwood
Nominated by Atlanta lawyers W. Seaborn Jones, C. David Butler and Paul M. Talmadge Jr. (June 2)

Joshua C. Bell
Bainbridge lawyer
Nominated by Damon E. Elmore, vice president at NAPA Rayloc (June 2)

William G. Hamrick III
State Senator, R-Carrollton
Nominated by state Sen. Ross Tolleson, R-Perry (May 28)

David Ralston
Attorney and State Representative, R-Blue Ridge
Nominated by State Rep. Doug Collins (June 2)

Richard S. “Rick” Thompson
Partner, Drew Eckl & Farnham
Nominated by Drew Eckl partner John G. Blackmon Jr. (June 1)

Barry A. Fleming
Partner, Fulcher Hagler
Nominated by Brian Epps of Kilpatrick Stockton (June 1)

John K. Larkins Jr.
Partner, Chilivis, Cochran, Larkins & Bever
Nominated by John K. Larkins III (June 1)

Jeannette L. Little
Troup County State Court Judge
Nominated by state Rep. Randy Nix (June 1)

Stephen Louis A. Dillard
James, Bates, Pope & Spivey
Nominated by state Sen. Cecil Staton (June 1)

Michael P. Boggs
Waycross Judicial Circuit Superior Court Judge
Nominated himself (June 1)

James R. Osborne
Paulding County Superior Court Judge
Nominated by W. Thomas Cable of Talley, Richardson & Cable (June 1)

Bruce M. Edenfield
Dahlonega attorney
Nominated by Robert E. Hicks of McKenna Long & Aldridge (June 1)

Kenneth L. Shigley
Chambers, Aholt & Rickard
Nominated by George M. Weaver (May 29)

Zena E. McClain
Savannah attorney
Nominated herself (May 29)

David E. Nahmias
U.S. Attorney for the Northern District of Georgia
Nominated by David J. Burge (May 28), Frank C. Jones (May 29), Jeffrey S. Cashdan (May 29), Larry D. Thompson (June 1)

M. Yvette Miller
Chief Judge, Court of Appeals of Georgia
Nominated by Benjamin A. Davis Jr. (May 28)

Cynthia J. Becker
DeKalb County Superior Court Judge
Nominated by Robert F. Dallas, director of Governor’s Office of Highway Safety (May 28)

Peggy H. Walker
Douglas County Juvenile Court Judge
Nominated herself (May 9)

Mary E. Staley
Cobb County Superior Court Judge
Nominated by herself (May 28)

Stephen B. Farrow
State Transportation Board Member
Nominated James H. Bisson III, a colleague at the North Georgia firm of Minor, Bell & Neal (May 27)

James P. Kelly III
Atlanta solo practitioner
Nominated by Atlanta lawyer Harry W. MacDougald of Caldwell & Watson (May 26)

J. David McDade
Douglas County District Attorney
Nominated by Blue Ridge Judicial Circuit District Attorney Garry T. Moss (May 26)

William M. Ray II
Gwinnett County Superior Court Judge
Nominated by Augusta lawyer David P. Dekle (May 22)

Craig L. Schwall Sr.
Fulton County Superior Court Judge
Nominated by Troutman Sanders partner Mark H. Cohen (May 22)

Thomas D. Harper
Atlanta insurance defense lawyer at Harper, Walden & Craig
Nominated by Athens lawyer Craig C. Avery (May 22)

C. Wilson DuBose
Georgia Public Defender Standards Council Chairman
Nominated by himself (April 29) and Atlanta lawyer Terrence L. Croft of King & Croft (May 27)

Patrick H. Head
Cobb County District Attorney
Nominated by former DeKalb County District Attorney J. Tom Morgan (April 16)

Samuel D. Ozburn
Alcovy Judicial Circuit Superior Court Judge
Nominated by State Sen. John Douglas, R-Social Circle (February 12)

Garland R. Hunt
State Board of Pardons and Paroles Member
Nominated by political consultant Tim Echols (December 26)

Benjamin W. Studdard III
Henry County State Court Chief Judge
Nominated by Mercer Law Professors Jack L. Sammons (December 19) and Joseph E. Claxton (January 12)

No comments: